Committee Chairpersons 2017-18

Academic And Professional Development Committee
Brittany Davis, Educational Studies
Co-Chairperson: Sarah Segal, Higher Education Administration

Develops and organizes initiatives and programming related to intellectual, scholarly, academic and professional life including our Graduate Student Summit. This committee will also help represent the interests of the Association with the faculty.

Alumni Committee
Thomas Kandris, Counseling

Maintain and bridge relationships between LMU’s Alumni Relations and with alumni from the University

Marketing and Publicity Committee
Grace Paz, Higher Education Administration

Develops and manages communication through social and traditional media for events and information. Chaired by the GSLMU Secretary.

Election Committee
Gaby Arana, Higher Education Administration

Develops and oversees the election process for Officers each Spring, oversees filling of vacancies. Chaired by the GSLMU Vice President.


Service Committee
Co-Chairperson: Jake Blicharz, Higher Education Administration
Co-Chairperson: David Urtecho, Comparative Theology

Develops and organizes programming that fosters students’ commitment to the spiritual life and social justice issues on and beyond the bluff. This committee is required to host at least one event per semester.

Social Committee
Social Liaison to Loyola Law School: Angela O’Malley, Legal Studies

Made up of EBoard. Develops and organizes programming that addresses a broad range of social and community building interests.

Grad Gala Committee
Susan Ruiz, School Counseling
Co-Chairperson: Aracely Lopez, School Counseling

Develops the Spring social event. This committee is tasked with planning, organizing, and marketing GSLMU’s signature social engagement.

Diversity and Inclusion Committee
Co-Chairperson: Mariah Glenn, School Counseling
Co-Chairperson: Agustin Arredondo, Guidance and Counseling
Honors the diverse backgrounds and needs of individuals by ensuring GSLMU programming meets the needs of graduate students from racial and ethnic minorities, women, the LGBT+ community, and international students.
Recognitions Committee
Co-Chairperson: Stephanie Vasquez, Guidance and Counseling
Co-Chairperson: Audrey Calma, Guidance and Counseling
Identifies and promotes the accomplishments of the university’s graduate
student community, for both individuals and organizations.